A Long-Term Project: “My Hymnals” reviews

I have been listing and working on my hymnal collection in the context of hymnary.org’s massive database, which among other things contains the entire database of the DNAH (or DiNAH) . Thus far I have listed well over 150 titles in what they call “My Hymnals”. “My Hymnals” @ Hymnary.org is set up so that only I can see it, so I have put a PDF of it as of a recent date on my Google hymn site, here.

Now I am proposing to post occasional reviews of items on the list. If I do one a week (which I think is probably overly optimistic) the list as it currently stands will keep me supplied with topics for over three years.

I propose to start at the top and work down. Some of the hymnals are very interesting, and may provide material for more than one post, while in other cases (including the first, the All-American Church Hymnal) I may find it hard to come up with more than a sentence or two to say that I or anyone else would find worth the reading.

So now, give me a week or so to look through the “AACH1957” (to use the Hymnary identifier), and I’ll try to say something worthwhile about it.

Etikedoj:

Respondi

