Dakota Odowan page scans

Here are a few scanned pages from the undated Dakota Odowan I borrowed yesterday from the Seattle Public Library.

Title Page:

First tune: Olmutz (unnumbered; no Dakota text given):

Second tune: Old Hundred (Dakota text 1):

Tune: Heber:

Tune: Martyn: (note: I am intrigued by the English text set to this; I don’t think I’ve ever seen the tune used for anything but “Jesus, Lover of My Soul”, which I suspect is the original of the associated Dakota text at right)

Index of Tunes:

Index of First Lines:

Fire away…
What is the date? What is its relation to the 1879 edition? etc.

Respondi

