Wonderful time in Birmingham

I got back early Saturday morning (7/17) from the Deep South. Flew to Atlanta late 7/10, took the Crescent to Bham, met a couple at the Amtrak station who were going the way I was so I made it to Samford w/out excessive cost or delay.

The Hymn Society convention (or, as they used to say, “convocation”—I like that!) began Sunday (7/11) afternoon and lasted till lunch on Thursday (7/15). The program was nonstop, and utterly enjoyable; don’t recall ever having had four consecutive 24-hour days of such wondrously enjoyable programming. More than offset the awful mugginess of the Southern Summer.

Five full-blown “Hymn Festivals”, plus a showcase for Celebrating Grace, an hour with Alice Parker and her new hymnal, a Bring-n-Sing, and another hymn-singing sectional. Wow.

The theme was “Sing of Justice, Sing of Peace”. We did, and how!

I’ll blog on portions of this in more detail in weeks to come, but I did (at CWS’s urging) want to at least start. While I figure out what to say, you can read the Birmingham News’s story, here. The first of the 8 photos has me in it. In case you don’t recognize me, here’s a copy with an arrow pointing to me:

Unu Respondo to “Wonderful time in Birmingham”

  1. Adam Says:

    It was good to finally meet you in person!

Respondi

