Rigardu Jesuon, la fonton de ĝojo

Jen la plej lastaj mesaĝoj inter mi kaj Charlie Butler:

Li skribis

On Tue, Jun 29, 2010 at 3:13 AM, Charlie Butler wrote:

Dear Haruo,

I was actually asking whether you knew of the Hymnal, though I was fairly sure that you would! I hadn’t actually realised that it was a reprint, although now I look I find that I have a copy of the previous edition as well, which certainly ought to have been a clue. I believe I also have the Kantaro Esperanta, though I don’t seem to be able to find it just at the moment.

I’ve looked through such papers as I have, and although there’s a sprinkling of poetry in Esperanto by both men, I’m not sure that much if any of it would count as hymns. I don’t have any written music, alas. The textbook on harmony was, it says in the letter, written for my aunt Naomi, who is still alive, though elderly, and may possibly have it. I could put you in touch with her if you wish.

Anyway, for your interest I’m attaching a couple of short Esperanto poems in TR’s writing, and also a letter he wrote on the correct spelling of ‘Jesus’ in Esperanto – a point which I imagine is settled by now!

Good luck with the presentation, and I look forward to seeing the posters in due course.

Best wishes,

Charlie

… al kio mi reskribis …

Thanks so much for the additional scans. The spelling of Jesuo is indeed pretty much a settled issue, as it was in 1918 for that matter; the publication of the NT in 1912 made it more or less a foregone conclusion that “Jesuo” would win out over “Jezuo”. Occasionally one sees the latter, but rarely is it argued in favor of. In Adoru the “s” is universal, though scansion and prosody result in a variation between “Jesuo” and ” Jesu ” and the “unassimilated” “Jesu”. The one thing I can’t figure out along these lines is why Adoru consistently calls the fellow “Imanuel” when the Esperanto Bible, the Hebrew and the Latin all agree on “Em(m)anuel”. I just (pardon me!) Kant imagine why they did this. I have no doubt whatsoever that Jesus would concur in the Categorical Imperative, though…

If you could ask your aunt Naomi about the textbook on harmony for me, that would be wonderful. If she still has it, I hope she will consider donating it to the Biblioteko Butler at Barlaston; if the BiblBut is not interested (perhaps because it may not be in Esperanto?) then our Biblioteko Culbert here in Seattle, which has the Western Hemisphere’s premiere collection of Esperanto hymnals — wouldn’t you know it, with me heading acquisitions😉 — would gladly take it.

The first of the two poems in TR’s hand, though a single short stanza, suggests a hymn, indeed, it reminds me strongly of “Vi estas, Jesuo, por ĉiu la Vojo” by Florence Harriet Hanbury, #68 in the final edition of Himnaro Esperanta. I wonder if there was some sort of influence of one on the writing of the other; perhaps Ms. Hanbury (yes, I know Ms. here is an anachronism) read TR’s poem and thought, why not expand that in Imitatio Zamenhofis, or perhaps TR wrote it as a condensed restatement of Hanbury? Do you know the date of the manuscript (or better yet, of the poem’s composition?)

MCB’s contributions to his own hymnal are too numerous to mention, but the three pieces I know to be by TR are

La suno subiris kaj Jakob laciĝis HE 67
Se l’ domon Dio ne konstruas HE 132 (= Adoru Kantante #108 = Adoru 761;
and cf. Evangelia Kantaro 12)
Sen vortoj kantas la ĉiel’ HE 14

The 1966 (1965 according to the title page) fifth edition of Himnaro Esperanta is not a mere reprint, any more than a recent printing of Hymns Ancient and Modern is a reprint of 1861’s version. It has a couple dozen more songs than the fourth edition. I’ve never seen any of the earlier editions, but according to Wikipedia (probably reliable in this) the first edition of 1910 was only 110 pages, and the 2nd ed. of 1921 147 pp., so my guess is that none of the five editions was a “reprint” of its predecessor.

I’m particularly eager to highlight your grandfather at this event because this is the centennial of his hymnal’s first edition, which at the time was far and away the grandest hymnal in our language.

Respondi

