Celebrating Grace – The Hymns 1-10/11

The editorial team that is putting together the new Baptist hymnal Celebrating Grace, scheduled to be published in early 2010 by Mercer University Press, has just released its list of hymns slated for inclusion in the new hymnal. Here are the first ten (eleven by this count, because I’m treating “All hail the power of Jesus’ name” as one hymn despite its being set to two tunes, but the HTML won’t accommodate me):

  1. A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
  2. A Mighty Rushing Wind
  3. Abide with Me
  4. Agnus Dei
  5. Alas, and Did My Savior Bleed
  6. Alleluia, Praise the Lord
  7. All Creatures of Our God and King
  8. All Glory Be to God on High
  9. All Glory, Laud, and Honor
  10. All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name (CORONATION)
  11. All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name (DIADEM)

No. 1 is a no-brainer; I presume that the text will be the Hedge translation, four stanzas. If I were doing it I’d give the first stanza in German as well, but that’s me.

No. 2 is unknown to me. I’m guessing this is the one for sale here, but that is baseless speculation. It could be a new hymn, previously unreleased.

No. 3: I assume the tune is EVENTIDE; four or five stanzas, relatively unretouched.

No. 4: Is this the same one (© 1990 by Sony of all things) that is in the 2008 Baptist Hymnal? Or a real Agnus Dei setting? Or what?

No. 5: Since “At the Cross” is listed separately, I’m guessing this refers to a setting to MARTYRDOM (AVON), perhaps five stanzas?

No. 6: ?? (out of alphabetical order, too…

No. 7: How many stanzas? Gentle Death?

No. 8: Four stanzas to ALLEIN GOTT? Not a foregone conclusion that this would be in a Baptist hymnal.

No. 9: Three stanzas, or five stanzas with a refrain? I’d prefer the latter, but the former is certainly the rule in Baptist hymnals.

No. 10/11: Probably just four stanzas of each of these, but I could do with six. A bit modernized? We’ll see.

Overall it looks like a solid selection of hymns. The vast majority of the “must haves” seem to be there (though the omission of “Great is Thy faithfulness” and “Rock of ages, cleft for me” was unforeseen). Not a whole lot of non-American stuff, and no indication if anything is not in English.

The hymns that are in nine or ten of our Evergreen Baptist churches’ hymnals that are missing here are:

  • Be not dismayed whate’er betide
  • Great is thy faithfulness
  • I am weak but thou art strong
  • I can hear my Savior calling
  • I must tell Jesus all of my trials
  • Jesus is tenderly calling you home
  • King of my life I crown thee now
  • More about Jesus would I know
  • Nearer, my God, to thee
  • Rock of ages, cleft for me
  • Savior, thy dying love
  • Take the name of Jesus with you
  • There’s a sweet, sweet Spirit in this place
  • There’s not a friend like the lowly Jesus

Hopefully in a few days I will tackle a few more. Looking eagerly forward to seeing the finished product.

Leland

6 Respondoj to “Celebrating Grace – The Hymns 1-10/11”

  1. C.W.S. Says:

    Those do seem like big omissions (I’d add Nearer my God to thee as a surprise).

    It may be that the copyright holder of Great is thy faithfulness refused to allow any word changes. I seem to recall that this was the case years ago when we tried.

  2. Haruo Says:

    I’m not sure what sort of changes they might have been so interested in making as to justify omitting “Great is thy faithfulness” when rebuffed; they don’t appear to be insistent about thou=>you, and I don’t think of this hymn as one that is objectionable in its militarism or gender-exclusiveness (unless one refuses “Father” as a nickname for God, but I don’t see David Music as likely to go there… And the copyright holder is Hope, which is fairly broad and inclusive in its policies… Do you recall what sort of changes your committee were wanting to make?

  3. C.W.S. Says:

    Not that they would be making the changes we sought, but the copyright holder (even, yes, an accommodating one like Hope) sometimes goes by the expressed wishes of the author/composer in not allowing any changes at all. It’s just by chance that this hymn was first published in 1923 and not 1922.

    Only wanted to suggest that final choice of hymns is not solely based on the preferences of the committee; other circumstances may intrude.

  4. Adam Says:

    Just noticed that “Great is thy faithfulness” is now on the list. Still no “Rock of ages,” however.

  5. Haruo Says:

    Got the book yesterday – finally! – the delay more my fault than theirs – and can report that in addition to “Great is thy faithfulness”, “There’s a sweet, sweet Spirit” made the final cut. So now the task is to create a handy pew supplement that will contain precisely the songs that churches using this hymnal will most sense the lack of. I know that if Fremont Baptist were to adopt Celebrating Grace, we would need at a minimum, just among the songs listed above,

    * Be not dismayed whate’er betide
    * I must tell Jesus all of my trials
    * King of my life I crown thee now
    * More about Jesus would I know
    * Nearer, my God, to thee
    * Rock of ages, cleft for me
    * Take the name of Jesus with you
    * There’s not a friend like the lowly Jesus

    I’ll start a new thread for further discussion of this important hymnal.

  6. Haruo Says:

    Checking my prescience:

    No. 1 is a no-brainer; I presume that the text will be the Hedge translation, four stanzas. If I were doing it I’d give the first stanza in German as well, but that’s me.

    CORRECT

    No. 2 is unknown to me. I’m guessing this is the one for sale here, but that is baseless speculation. It could be a new hymn, previously unreleased.

    It’s RUSHING, MIGHTY not MIGHTY, RUSHING and it’s a new hymn (4 vv to FESTAL SONG) by David Music.

    No. 3: I assume the tune is EVENTIDE; four or five stanzas, relatively unretouched.

    CORRECT, 4

    No. 4: Is this the same one (© 1990 by Sony of all things) that is in the 2008 Baptist Hymnal? Or a real Agnus Dei setting? Or what?

    Yep, it’s the Sony one, “Alleluia” is the sole Latin word in the body of the text.

    No. 5: Since “At the Cross” is listed separately, I’m guessing this refers to a setting to MARTYRDOM (AVON), perhaps five stanzas?

    Only 4

    No. 6: ?? (out of alphabetical order, too…

    Nigerian, and with one “Nigerian” stanza! (Nigerian is not a language, fellas, did you maybe mean Yoruba, or Igbo, or Hausa, or …?) I do appreciate this song, but wish I knew what language it was in.

    No. 7: How many stanzas? Gentle Death?

    5, but no Gentle Death.

    No. 8: Four stanzas to ALLEIN GOTT? Not a foregone conclusion that this would be in a Baptist hymnal.

    Nope, to MIT FREUDEN ZART.

    No. 9: Three stanzas, or five stanzas with a refrain? I’d prefer the latter, but the former is certainly the rule in Baptist hymnals.

    Yeah, 3 w/o refrain; we’re still Baptists, sometimes we may get a bit fervent, but we don’t process for goodness’ sake!

    No. 10/11: Probably just four stanzas of each of these, but I could do with six. A bit modernized? We’ll see.

    Pretty much à Rippon.

Respondi

