Liber Hymnarius Baptisticus

There are plenty of good English singing translations of Latin hymns. Does anyone out there have any good Latin singing (or chanting) translations of English hymns? I would be interested in seeing any such, but especially Latin versions of songs in the Evergreen Baptist common hymnody corpus, namely (those of Latin origin are not in boldface):

A mighty fortress is our God   Ein’ feste Burg
Abide with me fast falls the eventide  Eventide
Alas and did my Savior bleed    Hudson
All creatures of our God and King  Lasst uns erfreuen
All hail the power of Jesus’ name  Coronation
Amazing grace how sweet the sound   New Britain
Angels from the realms of glory   Regent Square
Angels we have heard on high   Gloria
Be still my soul    Finlandia
Beneath the cross of Jesus   St Christopher
Blessed assurance Jesus is mine   Assurance
Blest be the tie that binds   Dennis
Break thou the bread of life   Bread of Life
Breathe on me breath of God   Trentham

Christ the Lord is risen today   Easter Hymn
Come thou almighty King   Italian Hymn
Come thou fount of every blessing  Nettleton
Come we that love the Lord   Marching to Zion
Come ye thankful people come   St George’s Windsor
Faith of our fathers living still   St Catherine
For all the saints who from their labors rest Sine Nomine
Glory be to the Father   Greatorex
Go tell it on the mountain   Go Tell It
God of our fathers whose almighty hand  National Hymn
Great is thy Faithfulness   Faithfulness
Hark the herald angels sing   Mendelssohn
Holy holy holy Lord God almighty  Nicaea
How firm a foundation   Foundation
I am thine O Lord I have heard thy voice  I Am Thine
I come to the garden alone   Garden
I love to tell the story    Hankey
I need thee every hour   Need
It came upon the midnight clear   Carol
Jesus keep me near the cross   Near the Cross
Jesus shall reign where’er the sun  Duke Street
Joyful joyful we adore thee   Hymn to Joy
Just as I am without one plea   Woodworth
Let us break bread together on our knees  Let Us Break Bread
Love divine all loves excelling   Beecher
Mine eyes have seen the glory    Battle Hymn
More love to thee O Christ   More Love to Thee
My hope is built on nothing less   Solid Rock
O beautiful for spacious skies   Materna
O come all ye faithful    Adeste Fideles
O come O come Emmanuel   Veni Emmanuel
O for a thousand tongues to sing  Azmon
O God our help in ages past   St Anne
O little town of Bethlehem   St Louis
O Lord my God when I in awesome wonder O store Gud
On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross Old Rugged Cross
Praise God from whom all blessings flow  Old 100th
Praise to the Lord the almighty   Lobe den Herren
Rejoice ye pure in heart   Marion
Rock of Ages cleft for me   Toplady
Savior like a shepherd lead us   Bradbury
Silent night holy night   Stille Nacht
Sing them over again to me   Words of Life
Softly and tenderly Jesus is calling  Thompson
Sweet hour of prayer    Sweet Hour
The church’s one foundation   Aurelia
There is a name I love to hear   O How I Love Jesus
There’s a sweet sweet Spirit in this place  Manna
We gather together    Kremser
Were you there when they crucified  Were You There
What a fellowship what a joy divine  Showalter
What a friend we have in Jesus   Converse
What child is this    Greensleeves
When I survey the wondrous cross  Hamburg
When peace like a river attendeth my way  Ville du Havre

I know there are Latin versions of “Stille Nacht”, but beyond that I’m not sure which if any of the foregoing have been so graced. I welcome suggestions and translations.

Haruo

Etikedoj: , ,

4 Respondoj to “Liber Hymnarius Baptisticus”

  1. Haruo Says:

    Mi ĝojis rimarki, ke la anglikana blogo Anglican Music ligis tiun ĉi afiŝon. Almenaŭ unu vizitanto ĉi tien rezultis el tiu ligo.

  2. Maureen Says:

    I posted several suggestions over at the CMAA/Musica Sacra forum (some public domain) which I hope will be of use!

    • Haruo Says:

      Thanks, Maureen! At least as far as the Christmas pieces go, you’ve filled in many lacunae. That other one you posted a link to seems to be heavily weighted towards Keble, who is not a major figure in Baptist hymnody. Also, of course, while Wesley’s “Christ the Lord is risen today” is not of Latin origin, it is more or less intermixable or even interchangeable with “Jesus Christ is risen today”, which is the Latin “Surrexit Christus hodie”; both hymns in either language can be sung more or less equally well to either EASTER HYMN (aka WORGAN aka ANGLIA) or LLANFAIR.

  3. Walter Mattys Says:

    Hi Haruo ! Just came across your 2008-2010 posts here. You are is great company with this whole topic of ‘Latinizing’ great English Hymns !
    It was quite a pre-occupation of people in the 19th century ! I have (maybe) hundreds of translations.
    Rev. Hamilton Macgill was a perfectiionist at this: his translations are so authenically Latin I mean. Recently digitized: this great book !
    http://www.archive.org/details/songschristianc00unkngoog
    William Blaikie: also great and digitized or online for downloading:
    http://www.archive.org/details/xlixenglishhymn00blaigoog
    And Richard Bingham was ‘prolific’:
    http://www.archive.org/details/hymnologiachris00unkngoog
    And by now, you may have found MARK MORTIMER’s website:
    http://www.latinisedhymns.org.uk/
    If you have not discovered these links above, you’re in for a surprise.
    If you have, I have some more up my sleave.
    Walter

Respondi

