“The Love Song of the Welsh Revival”

I found the following Welsh text in the Cyber Hymnal™ (but set to EBENEZER aka TON-Y-BOTEL):

Dyma gariad fel y moroedd,
Tosturiaethau fel y lli:
Twysog Bywyd pur yn marw—
Marw i brynu’n bywyd ni.
Pwy all beidio â chofio amdano?
Pwy all beidio â thraethu’I glod?
Dyma gariad nad â’n angof
Tra fo nefoedd wen yn bod.

Ar Galfaria yr ymrwygodd
Holl ffynhonnau’r dyfnder mawr;
Torrodd holl argaeau’r nefoedd
Oedd yn gyfain hyd yn awr:
Gras â chariad megis dilyw
Yn ymdywallt ymâ ’nghyd,
A chyfiawnder pur â heddwch
Yn cusanu euog fyd.

English text in the Cyber Hymnal™

Here is love, vast as the ocean,
Lovingkindness as the flood,
When the Prince of Life, our Ransom,
Shed for us His precious blood.
Who His love will not remember?
Who can cease to sing His praise?
He can never be forgotten,
Throughout Heav’n’s eternal days.

On the mount of crucifixion,
Fountains opened deep and wide;
Through the floodgates of God’s mercy
Flowed a vast and gracious tide.
Grace and love, like mighty rivers,
Poured incessant from above,
And Heav’n’s peace and perfect justice
Kissed a guilty world in love.

Let me all Thy love accepting,
Love Thee, ever all my days;
Let me seek Thy kingdom only
And my life be to Thy praise;
Thou alone shalt be my glory,
Nothing in the world I see.
Thou hast cleansed and sanctified me,
Thou Thyself hast set me free.

In Thy truth Thou dost direct me
By Thy Spirit through Thy Word;
And Thy grace my need is meeting,
As I trust in Thee, my Lord.
Of Thy fullness Thou art pouring
Thy great love and power on me,
Without measure, full and boundless,
Drawing out my heart to Thee.

PDF of the English text set to the Lowry tune

Welsh/English YouTube video, sung by Huw Priday (Lowry tune in both tongues, first two stanzas only)

English YouTube video, sung by Robin Mark

This webpage offers a different, two-stanza English version:

“Wondrous love, unbounded mercy!
Vast as oceans in their flood:
Jesus, Prince of Life, is dying—
Life for us is in His blood!
Oh! what heart can e’er forget Him?
Who can cease His praise to sing?
Wondrous love for ever cherished
While the heavens with music ring.

Rent on Calvary asunder
Were the fountains of the deep,
Nor within their ancient channels
Could the streams of mercy keep;
See the overflowing torrents
Of redeeming love and grace;
Peace Divine and perfect Justice
Now a guilty world embrace.”

On their memorial CD “Home”, The Eshes sang a text consisting of the first stanza of the welshrevival.org version followed by vv. 2-4 of the Cyberhymnal’s version . Here is an MP3 of their performance:

01 Track 1

“Wondrous love, unbounded mercy! …

On the mount of crucifixion, …
… Drawing out my heart to Thee.”

The only hymnal I have this in is The Christian Life Hymnal, which I’m pretty sure gives three stanzas. Will check…

2 Respondoj to ““The Love Song of the Welsh Revival””

  1. Ros' Haruo Says:

    Thread at Hymnary.org.

  2. Hiroshima And Nagasaki - nuclear war 2012 Says:

    [...] As a You may also find this relevant: http://seeingclearly.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/rob-bell-and-universalism/ You may also find this relevant: http://miahimnareto.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/the-love-song-of-the-welsh-revival/ [...]

Respondi

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

